Practice Update: Know Your Limits

I will post an update on my practice once a week on Sundays. The purpose of these posts is to share my  personal journey and to inspire other beginners in their practice.

This morning I did 5 rounds of Surya Namaskara A and 3 rounds of Surya Namaskara B. My transitions are about as far from graceful that you could get. I had to sub Child’s Pose for Downward Facing Dog a few times. Towards the end I struggled to maintain my breath. I collapsed into Savasana.

It’s easy to get discouraged when  things seem so unattainable. With Pinterest, Instagram, and Youtube,  we are flooded with images of yogis doing complex poses in exotic locations. In those moments these things feel so far away from me, but I have to remind myself of how far I have come. Everyone (even these seemingly superhuman beings) started somewhere and were beginners once.

I feel pride that I listened to my body and stopped when I reached my limit. Could I finish Surya Namaskara B and do the first bit of primary series? Probably, but who am I trying to impress?  If I did it would be in a half-assed manner and I would struggle to maintain my form, breath, and focus. Listen to your body and know your limits. The beauty of ashtanga is that there’s always tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

